RevelationZ - Entertainment  That  Endures

Music - Quick Review - Tori Amos - Little Earthquakes


Tori Amos - Little Earthquakes


01. Crucify [4:58]
02. Girl [4:06]
03. Silent All These Years [4:10]
04. Precious Things [4:26]
05. Winter [5:40]
06. Happy Phantom [3:12]
07. China [4:58]
08. Leather [3:12]
09. Mother [6:59]
10. Tear In Your Hand [4:38]
11. Me And A Gun [3:44]
12. Little Earthquakes [6:51]


Alternative / Female Vocals / Piano-based / Progressive

Released By / Year

Warner Music / 1992

Quick Review

One Word Review: Distinguished

On her debut album, Tori Amos displays all the qualities, I find most endearing about her music. Emotion, personality, quirkiness, humor, depth and most importantly, the ability to combine all these things into unforgetable songs that remain relevant.

To have something as chilling as Me and A Gun next to the completely different mood displayed in Happy Phantom shows the wide range of emotions the album covers. What becomes interesting with repeated listens, is to put one into the context of the other and suddenly a whole other layer is revealed, making what was once carefree and lithe, work as a means of escape and suddenly taking on haunting mood.

I'll write a more thorough review at some point, but put shortly, I feel as if Little Earthquakes is a doorway into a soul filled with spirit, and though that spirit may have been dampened by opposition, it only grows stronger and more unrelenting. The result is an album adorned with comments on different aspects of humanity and in that respect, it is an album that will never grow old.

Favorite songs: Tear In Your Hand, Winter, Mother, Silent All These Years, China, Girl, Crucify, Me and A Gun, the whole thing really...

Written By Steen
Online: Tuesday, April 12, 2016

Video Section